VISITOR INFORMATION
Hours & Admission
Directions
Events
Zoo Map
Group Visit Registration
Contact Us

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 
placeholderImage
 

ZOO SNOOZE - SCOUT AND GROUP

Available Dates
Binder Park Zoo offers Zoo Snoozes nearly every Friday and Saturday of our season! 

The table below lists our 2014 dates.  Other dates may be available upon request.  A date is listed as “Open” until a group has registered for an evening.  The first group to register for a specific evening gets to pick the age or scout level and program.  Once a level and program have been set, only groups of the same level wishing to do the same program may register for that overnight.  The last column shows the total number of spaces that remain for an overnight. 

Please keep in mind that overnights are registered daily, therefore this table may not be completely accurate. If possible, pick multiple dates for your group.         

Date Program Spaces Left
Friday, April 25, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, April 26, 2014 Open 50
Friday, May 2, 2014 Junior GS: Nature at Night 16
Saturday, May 3, 2014 Brownie GS: Zoolympics 1
Friday, May 9, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, May 10, 2014 Open 50
Friday, May 16, 2014 Brownie GS: Zoolympics 36
Saturday, May 17, 2014 Cub Scouts Pack: So You Want to be a Naturalist 30
Friday, May 23, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, May 24, 2014 Open 50
Friday, May 30, 2014 Brownie GS: ZSI: Zoo Scene Investigation 20
Saturday, May 31, 2014 Daisy Girl Scouts: Zoolympics 28
Friday, June 6, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, June 7, 2014 Dasiy GS: TBD 8
Friday, June 13, 2014 Brownie GS: Wilderness Survival 29
Saturday, June 14, 2014 Brownie Girl Scouts: Wilderness Survival 30
Thursday, June 19, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, June 21, 2014 Mixed Girl Scouts: TBD 10
Friday, June 27, 2014 Daisy Girl Scouts: TBD 30
Saturday, June 28, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, July 5, 2014 Open 50
Friday, July 11, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, July 12, 2014 Open 50
Friday, July 18, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, July 19, 2014 Open 50
Friday, July 25, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, July 26, 2014 Mixed GS: Wilderness Survival 17
Friday, August 1, 2014 Open 50
Friday, August 8, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, August 9, 2014 Open 50
Friday, August 15, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, August 16, 2014 Open 50
Friday, August 22, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, August 23, 2014 Open 50
Friday, August 29, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, August 30, 2014 Open 50
Friday, September 5, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, September 6, 2014 Open 50
Friday, September 12, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, September 13, 2014 Open 50
Friday, September 19, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, September 20, 2014 Open 50
Friday, September 26, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, September 27, 2014 Open 50
Friday, October 3, 2014 Open 50
Saturday, October 4, 2014 Open 50

 

 

Zoo Snooze Program Topics  

Binder Park Zoo’s Zoo Snooze program offers a wide range programs for scouts, schools, and groups.  A description of each program is listed below and specific scout badge information is located at the bottom of the page.  Are you interested in a particular subject not listed below?  Custom programs may be available, please contact the zoo for more details! Some programs may not be available during the off-season, please contact the zoo for more information. 

Act like the Animals: Do you think people are the only ones able to put on a show?  Experience a one-of-a-kind overnight that gives groups a chance to write, design, and perform their own animal-themed play.  

Animals and Us: Learn about animals from all over the world while examining the human-animal connection in this overnight!

Birds of a Feather:  Do you know why some birds leave in the fall, while others stay all winter?  Have you ever wondered what kinds of birds live around the world?  Discover the wondrous world of birds in this exciting overnight adventure.

Forest Night:  Can you name six trees found in Michigan forests?  Do you know why plants are important to animals?  Through exploration of Binder Park Zoo’s Swamp Adventure, discover the wonderful world of plants. 

Insect Study: What creepy crawly insects live right under our feet? What might we find under that near-by rock? Discover what is an insect and what insects we have right here living among us.

Mammal Study:  Discover the intriguing world of mammals, and get a chance to learn some important identification techniques used by scientists. 

Nature at Night: Learn all about how nocturnal animals survive and thrive during the hours that the rest of the world sleeps. 

Protecting Your World: Do you have what it takes to save the planet?  Discover little things you can do to go green and help save animals and habitats around the world! 

Reptiles and Amphibians:  Are snakes slimy?  What is the difference between toads and frogs?  Discover the under-appreciated, fascinating world of reptiles and amphibians. 

So You Want to Be a Naturalist?: Do you think you have what it takes to study the natural world?  Get down and dirty while discovering the exciting world of plants and animals, all while putting your own naturalist skills to the test.

Wildlife Adventure:  Do you know how animals protect themselves? Do you know how we can help them?  Groups will take a closer look into the world of animals, and discover some amazing facts along the way.

Wilderness Survival: Would you be able to survive a night out in the wild?  Put your skills to the test on this animal adventure, only the strong will survive! 

ZSI-Zoo Scene Investigation!: Do you have what it takes to be a great investigator?  Learn about important investigative techniques, including the power of observation, teamwork skills, and the use of all senses, then put those skills to the test to solve a zoo mystery! 

Zoolympics!: Test your competitive side by creating and competing in your very own Olympic activities!

Scout Badge Information:
The table below lists what programs are available for each scout level, as well as what badges and requirements the programs aim to cover.  Some Girl Scout levels can be combined and work towards each levels badge, some levels cannot based on badge requirements. Please contact a Zoo Educator for more information. 

Scout Level

Program

Badge/Requirements

Brownie Girl Scouts

Wilderness Survival

Hiker Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

 

Zoolympics

Making Games Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4

 

ZSI-Zoo Scene Investigation

Senses Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

Junior Girl Scouts

Animals and Us

Animals Habitats Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

 

Wilderness Survival

Camper Badge: #1, #2, #4, #5

 

ZSI-Zoo Scene Investigation

Detective Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

Cadette Girl Scouts

Act Like the Animals

Public Speaker Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

 

Animals and Us

Animal Helpers Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

 

Nature at Night

Night Owl Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

 

Wilderness Survival

Trailblazing Badge:#1, #3, #4, #5

 

ZSI-Zoo Scene Investigation

Special Agent Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

Senior Girl Scouts

Act Like the Animals

Troupe Performer Badge: #2, #3, #4, #5

 

Animals and Us

Voice for Animals Badge: #1, #2, #4, #5

 

Zoolympics

Game Visionary Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5

Tiger Cub Scouts

So You Want to be a Naturalist?

Let’s Go Outdoors! D, G; Electives 31, 32, 35, and 42.

Wolf Cub Scouts

Birds of a Feather

 Birds (Elective 13): A(partial), B, C, D, E

 

Protecting Your World

Your Living World Achievement: 7a, 7b, 7e, 7f(partial)

 

So You Want to be a Naturalist?

Let’s Go Camping (Elective 23)!: A, B, C, D, G

Bear Cub Scouts

So You Want to be a Naturalist?

Sharing Your World with Wildlife Achievement 5: A(partial), B(partial), C, D, E

Webelo Cub Scouts

Act Like the Animals

Showman Badge: #2, #3, #5, #6, #9, #11, #19

 

Forest Night

Forestry Badge: #2, #3, #4, #6, #9

 

So You Want to be a Naturalist?

Naturalist Badge: #1b, #4, #7, #9, #10. #12(partial)

Cub Scout Packs

So You Want to be a Naturalist?

Various requirements will be met for each level of Cub Scouts.

 

Wildlife Adventure

Wildlife Conservation Belt Loop #1, #2, #3; Academic Pin #1, #3, #5, #7

Boy Scouts

Birds of a Feather

Bird Study Merit Badge: #1, #2, #4, #5, #6, #7a, #8a

 

Forest Night

Forestry Merit Badge: #1, #2b, #3a, #5a, #6a #6b

 

Insect Study

Insect Study Merit Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #8, #9, #10

 

Mammal Study

Mammal Study Merit Badge: #1, #2, #4g

 

Reptiles and Amphibians

Reptile and Amphibian Study Merit Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #7, #9a, #10

 

So You Want to be a Naturalist?

Nature Merit Badge: #1, #2, #3, #4a (partial), #4b (partial), #4c (partial), #4g (partial)

 
Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural AffairsBattle Creek Community Foundation